Quantity of Concrete and rebar used for this house

Almost everything that needs to be said about concrete, cement, hand-mixing, uses and prices has been said on this forum. Please check out the contributions before posting new questions.

Moderators: Sometimewoodworker, MGV12, BKKBILL, pattayapope

Quantity of Concrete and rebar used for this house

Postby ifreeman » Tue Sep 08, 2009 8:19 pm

Hi,

I have read a lot through the forum and learnt a lot, but obviously, I am still a novice, therefore, be gentle for my first post

I would like to build this house in Phuket and have already finalized the structural drawings. The fist contractor I have been quoted just gave a very rough BOQ, and I can see some discrepancies on easy items, such as the floors and the walls surfaces.

But the figures for the concrete and rebar seems very high as the BOQ mentions
• 19 cbm lean concrete
• 191 cbm ready ix (240) concrete
• 210 sqm precast plank (concrete)
• 1,000sqm formwork
• etc ...

The house is around 250sqm footprint (25 X 10)
1. first floor
• 200sqm living area
• 50sqm empty space for cars

2. second floor (5m from ground)
• 110sqm living area
• 100sqm opened terrace
• 40sqm swimming pool (deep 1.4m)

3. Third floor (8m from ground)
• 65sm open terrace

Because one member, I think Jazzman, mentioned he used 14cbm or concrete for first floor of 156sqm, the figure of my very rough BOQ seemed very very high.

Could someone confirm this, or is it possible that such a house use so much structural material?
I have the structural drawings, but as I am not familiar, I don’t know how to calculate the volume of the concrete needed

Thanks for your comments
ifreeman
Attachments
per3 compressed.jpg
ifreeman

Re: Quantity of Concrete and rebar used for this house

Postby geordie » Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:54 pm