Building a new home with pool and sauna in Phonjalong, Korat

Any story related to building in the LOS, whether everything turned out hunky dory or not!

Moderators: MGV12, BKKBILL, fredlk

Building a new home with pool and sauna in Phonjalong, Korat

Postby gadgetman » Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:46 pm

My wife and I have bought 1 rai of land in her village of Phonjalong, facing the village reservoir and are about to rent our house out in Phuket and leave all the hussle and bussle for some real, Thai village life!

But before enjoying the village life, we have some serious work to do first! We are going to build an L shaped Pool Bungalow, with 3 ensuite bedrooms of the style so popular (and so practical from my viewpoint) in Phuket. They are also fairly simple and straightforward to build as well (my good friend from the UK has built 3 already in Phuket, so I have some inside knowledge!) which translates to very cost effective!

I have read of some great ideas on this website for saving money, and doing a good job at the same time, so I can't wait to put all this knowledge into practice.

Through info read here, I have asked <edit Dozer 7/30/09> to draw up the plans, using a variation of what we have built in Phuket. The most important lesson I have learnt is to design the house to be as cool as possible - hence the use of gable ends with plenty of ventilation, insulation behind the roofing tiles etc.

The house is to be built so the floor beams and the top of the swimming pool are 2m above the ground level, ensuring that we will have an ininterupted view from the house and pool across our planned 2m perimeter wall, across the reservoir and the village beyond. An additional benefit is plenty of storage space under the house, and hopefully some cooling benefits in the house.