Good morning / afternoon / evening

A blurb about who you are an your interest in Thai real estate.

Moderators: Sometimewoodworker, MGV12, BKKBILL

Good morning / afternoon / evening

Postby nisakiman » Sun Mar 02, 2014 10:18 pm

Hello all, my username is nisakiman.

I'm English, I've been living in Greece for the past twelve years, and my (Thai) wife and I are thinking about a permanent move to Thailand in the next couple of years so I can sort of semi-retire (I hit 65 this year). We are currently looking for a suitable piece of land near Ubon, where her folks live, and my idea is then to build a Thai style timber home on it. (And maybe a couple of bungalows to hopefully supplement the income stream!)

I'm a professional carpenter, so will be doing a fair bit of the work myself (not so much first-fix heavy stuff, but probably most of the interior work). Also, having been in the building trade, I have a working knowledge of many aspects of the other trades involved in house building, so will 'project manage' the build myself. However, not having spent much time continuously in Thailand, I know nothing about available materials, best places to buy them, local building practices etc etc. So much I need to learn! I remember what a steep learning curve it was when I first moved to Greece.

Finding this site was a real bonus, and I anticipate in coming months being a very regular visitor. I've spent the last couple of hours browsing the subjects here, and it's a real goldmine of information, so many thanks to all those who have put all this info up over the years. I hope in the future I will be able to make my own contribution to add to the sum of knowledge here.
nisakiman

Re: Good morning / afternoon / evening

Postby sirineou » Mon Mar 03, 2014 12:54 am

Hi Nisakiman
Welcome to the Forum