Filling 2 out of 5 rai. Any problems?

separate topics on:- measurement, puchasing, registration - Land filling, compacting and levelling - drainage and
anything else related to raw land!

Moderators: Sometimewoodworker, MGV12, BKKBILL

Filling 2 out of 5 rai. Any problems?

Postby oldmajor » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:03 pm

Hello all. I would like to mention that I am a complete newb to landfill and house construction. Please go easy on me if I ask some stoooopid questions. (there will be many :D )
I have a 5 rai plot of land but intend to only fill 2 rai. Fill will be approx. 1.5 metres. The 2 rai to be filled will be a driveway from the road to the middle of the plot, the rest of the fill be for the house, carport and workshop. Will I need to build around the filled land to ensure that it stays there and settles for a year or is it safe to leave it unattended?
Thanks
oldmajor

Re: Filling 2 out of 5 rai. Any problems?

Postby geordie » Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:12 pm

you will get erosion usually it will erode to an angle of 45% so if you were to create an embankment of 45% you could expect it to stay fairly intact Have you considered a conventional thai style build ? put the house on stilts keeping a crawlspace under it you could then start imediatly on the build and add the fill as needed
it will need some sort of retaining wall because of the depth of fill but keeping a void under the house will save a few truckloads ?
my comments may be wrong but never deliberately
If it aint broke, dont fix it
geordie

Postby pipoz » Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:45 pm

oldmajor wrote:Hello all. I would like to mention that I am a complete newb to landfill and house construction. Please go easy on me if I ask some stoooopid questions. (there will be many :D )