Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Any story related to building in the LOS, whether everything turned out hunky dory or not!

Moderators: MGV12, BKKBILL, fredlk

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Tommy » Tue May 21, 2013 8:37 pm

Little water. White cloudy in color. Pump able to run only around 10am to 1pm. Just gotta keep trying. Usually breaker will just jump back to "off" position..

Pump is down 50m into the borehole
User avatar
Tommy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby fredlk » Tue May 21, 2013 8:48 pm

Tommy wrote:Pump is down 50m into the borehole

Try lowering the pump some more.
User avatar
fredlk
 
Posts: 5879
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Tommy » Wed May 22, 2013 1:00 pm

Yup. Gonna lower down to 80m. Currently water will run for 19min and dry up. 2hrs break and it will roughly pump up another 1000L.
User avatar
Tommy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby fredlk » Wed May 22, 2013 2:03 pm

Tommy wrote:Yup. Gonna lower down to 80m. Currently water will run for 19min and dry up. 2hrs break and it will roughly pump up another 1000L.

There's your problem, not weak ( :lol: :roll: :lol: ) electricity.
User avatar
fredlk
 
Posts: 5879
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Tommy » Wed May 22, 2013 4:42 pm

But "weak electricity" is a problem. Used a device with black and red wired pins to test the outlets. Running at 225. But when the pump is switched on, it drops to 200. Off it and it goes back to 225.
This was tested during 12pm earlier on. Just tested again and it's running at 200 and if I switch the pump on now, it will not run.
User avatar
Tommy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby fredlk » Wed May 22, 2013 4:47 pm

Tommy wrote:But "weak electricity" is a problem.

I stand corrected. :oops:
User avatar
fredlk
 
Posts: 5879
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby rolyth » Wed May 22, 2013 9:02 pm

i am learning..
:wink:

P.S tommy, i still cannot pm anyone because of my low postcost..
rolyth
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 7:25 am

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Tommy » Wed May 22, 2013 9:48 pm

@rolyth. No worries. Can hijack and chat here if needed. My build thread is the most boring and dry thread in here :D Don't think anyone will really mind if we drift off to non-related post once in a while.

Update.
Heard that the electrician guy came over last night after I left the place. Got yelled at by my BiL quite badly. In a nutshell, BiL kinda told him to go screw himself and do not even dream that he will recommend him to anyone for any work projects.

Came over this evening all meek and tried his best to make amends. Tinkered around with the pump setup again and extended the wiring for lowering the pump down by another 30m.

Brought along two big fat frogs as a gift to appease my BiL n FiL. Guess its a favorite among them as FiL n BiL seems quite happy with it and proceeded to make soup with the frogs for dinner.

Will be testing the pump again tomorrow and the electrician promised to find a way to solve the weak electricity supply problem. Seems like the issue originated right from the source of electricity supple. Whatever was provided through the grid was not up to the required voltage in the 1st place. Compound this with all the milk n cheese factories around here, resulted in the wavering power supply. Not too sure what can be done yet but he said he will try to figure something out.

(Pics will be posted tomorrow)
User avatar
Tommy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Roger Ramjet » Thu May 23, 2013 8:42 am

Tommy,
The way to stop the wavering electrical supply is get the electricity mob to put in a transformer close to the house.
User avatar
Roger Ramjet
 
Posts: 5251
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:55 pm

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Tommy » Fri May 24, 2013 9:21 pm

@RR. Yea. Found that out. Will be able to do so only when everything is complete and at the proper locations.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369404510.209921.jpg

Simple roof form. +60baht/m to have that "heat proofing" foam glued on.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369404702.699721.jpg


ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369404838.773217.jpg


ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369404867.519307.jpg

No wood forms planned for since they managed to dig such a straight trench for the rebar. Remembered Geordie commenting in another tread that it's actually OK without forms thus just nodded when my FiL explain it to me.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369405157.860204.jpg

My job today. Using the changkol to mix the cement. Mix ratio up to them. I'm just supposed to mix.

Seems like there is no fixed ratio actually cos they will look at the result then decided if more water or stone needs to be added. Tried to count but failed.



ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369404896.346122.jpg


ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369404917.286753.jpg

Cheating. Tried for about 15min to insert the rebar into the holes. Failed.
Solution: insert a short piece of rebar into the hole, then tie it to the whole piece of rebar.
User avatar
Tommy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Tommy » Fri May 24, 2013 9:30 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369405309.671687.jpg

The pic is not taken well but it's the Pre-cast column being chipped away to reveal the re-bar within. The rebar for the wall form is actually welded to the exposed bar from the column.

Will appreciate greatly if anyone and explain to me what's the purpose. FiL explained but I lost him...


In addition, can anyone advise me on the price per trip of the cement truck? And what's the amount of cement load in each trip?

Thinking of using it when doing the pour for the floor. The floor area is 112sqm and a pour of about 6cm thickness for the floor suggested by my FiL.
Is 6cm thickness sufficient? And will 2 trips / loads by the cement truck be enough?
User avatar
Tommy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Roger Ramjet » Sat May 25, 2013 6:29 am

Tommy,
Geordie also said that if you are going to pour concrete in a trench without formwork, then you must use plastic to stop all the water in the cement from seeping into the surrounding soil. If you pour cement in that trench it will end up brittle, flakey and be worthless.
Personally, if it were me, I would stop listening to the FIL and start reading some threads.
User avatar
Roger Ramjet
 
Posts: 5251
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:55 pm

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Mike Judd » Sat May 25, 2013 7:51 am

Tommy,! Take the advise given ,read some threads, it will save you a lot of grief. On the floor thickness I wouldn't advise less than 100m.m. unless it's just a garden path, even then do try to make sure that they keep the steel mesh off of the ground when pouring the concrete. Not something that they seem to bother with most times . The placement of the steel is critical to the ultimate strength of any reinforced concrete,but it does require a minimum cover of concrete for it to do it's job.
Mike Judd
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:31 am
Location: Church Point Sydney N.S.W. Australia. Khon Kaen

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Sometimewoodworker » Sat May 25, 2013 7:12 pm

Tommy wrote:
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369405309.671687.jpg

The pic is not taken well but it's the Pre-cast column being chipped away to reveal the re-bar within. The rebar for the wall form is actually welded to the exposed bar from the column.

Will appreciate greatly if anyone and explain to me what's the purpose. FiL explained but I lost him...


In addition, can anyone advise me on the price per trip of the cement truck? And what's the amount of cement load in each trip?

Thinking of using it when doing the pour for the floor. The floor area is 112sqm and a pour of about 6cm thickness for the floor suggested by my FiL.
Is 6cm thickness sufficient? And will 2 trips / loads by the cement truck be enough?


There is no price per trip of the cement truck. There is usually a minimum of 3Cu M per trip and it is priced per Cu M. The price depends on the strength required and your location. FWIW we paid 1,700 baht per Cu M for 240 steng.

Usually the biggest truck is 5CuM so 112sqm X 10cm = 11.2 CuM or 3 trucks
Sometimewoodworker
 
Posts: 1806
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:22 pm
Location: Non Sa-At / Tokyo

Re: Building somewhere off Takhop(korat)

Postby Tommy » Sat May 25, 2013 9:06 pm

[/quote]

There is no price per trip of the cement truck. There is usually a minimum of 3Cu M per trip and it is priced per Cu M. The price depends on the strength required and your location. FWIW we paid 1,700 baht per Cu M for 240 steng.

Usually the biggest truck is 5CuM so 112sqm X 10cm = 11.2 CuM or 3 trucks[/quote]

240 steng means??

Asked around today. But seems like the local CPAC company is not that trustworthy. They do not exactly follow specifications nor deliver the correct amount ordered. Price quoted to locals is 1500baht.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369490152.319847.jpg

My temporarily water tank.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369490199.838830.jpg

Borehole and the tank next to it. In foreground is Et gathering dry stuff for bonfire.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369490291.818932.jpg

Distance from borehole to the House.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369490354.657152.jpg

Opening for windows

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369490383.699306.jpg

By the time I came back from getting quotes for windows and doors, the pour had been done. Will take photos again of how it ends up as..

This build of mine.. I'm looking at it as a learning experience into how locals build their stuff, get around problems and so on, I have no experience in building and thou I voiced out questions and comments, half of the time it's either I dun understand the explanation or I'm not able to voice across what I mean clearly enough.

There had been many occasions of frustrations till now and I felt more at peace with everything only after I decide that it's better for me to take it as a learning experience so that for the next build, I will know better what to expect and be more prepared.

Will follow on ad update. But might b hard at times cos I'm involved in the build daily and not just supervising. Tends to forget taking pictures after the day has ended as there r many other stuff that still nds to be done on a daily basis.

Appreciate all comments and advice given so far thou. Thanks all
User avatar
Tommy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:55 am

PreviousNext

Return to Your Building Story

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest