Building my house in Sattahip

Any story related to building in the LOS, whether everything turned out hunky dory or not!

Moderators: MGV12, BKKBILL, fredlk

Postby fredlk » Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:38 am

This is my first post here and I have far to go, but I first want to thank you all at Coolthaihouse for all the information and for a lot of the knowledge I now (think I) have about building in Thailand. I’m in my 50’s and retired. I have been coming to Thailand since 1990 and I have been living here permanently since 2005.

After mostly living in Bangkok, but missing the sea and the sea-air I decided to look for land on the eastern seaboard. After a couple of months of research and viewings I found 486 Talang Wah (2,080 square meters) of reposessed land on a hill in Bang Saray, Sattahip with views of the mountains and the coast all the way up to Jomtien and Pattaya.

I put together a basic floor plan and design of what I wanted and then met with a few architects. I signed the contract with a guy called Fluke, recommended here by Thaimic. 6 months later we have a completed design. It is now being adjusted very slightly, worked out and detailed. This version is from before the final adjustments.

Fred.
Attachments
houseplan_rev copy.jpg
fredlk

Postby fredlk » Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:44 am

After some more tweaks, this is the final version although here too are some small adjustments to be made before the specifications are ready. The building is quite a bit larger than originally intended, but I don’t want to compromise what I think is a good-looking whole and so it will be built in stages ..... due to cash flow. :oops: :-)
Attachments
p_in_3d_rev6_10_resize.jpg
p_in_3d_rev6_7_resize.jpg
p_in_3d_rev6_12_resize.jpg
p_in_3d_rev6_8_resize.jpg
fredlk

Postby fredlk » Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:46 am