Chiang Kham build

Any story related to building in the LOS, whether everything turned out hunky dory or not!

Moderators: MGV12, BKKBILL, fredlk

Chiang Kham build

Postby kornoipaddy » Tue Jun 24, 2008 11:35 am

Hello to all,

I arrived here at the end of last month. My girlfriend and I decided to go ahead with the build. Not a hard decision for me as prices are spiralling in the wrong direction here.

the build is close to Chiand Kham around 90 km south east of Chiang Rai. It will be a 3 bedroom bungalow. The design is one from the crossythai government website. i will try and find out which one exactly. The land belongs to my girlfriend. Her father uses it as farmland. On this land there is a substantial pool only for fish, chickens, numerous fruit trees and at one stage a couple of pigs now sold. the house will look at the mountains bordering thailand and laos.

I am a contracting engineer doing R C Frame buildings in England. i thought about doing the build myself. but i guesstimate at best i could do it for 900 000 or 1m at very best. but we got a contractor to do it for 1.2m. So I can relax and say yay or nay.

so far what has happened.

june 10 positioned house. got levels and lines down.
june 11 machine came and dug for foundation pads (17 No.).
june 12 plant arrived on site.
june 13 blinded the undersided of pads.
june 14 had Chok Dee Ceremony. also they install pad steel and column steel. After thay pour the concrete to all 17 No. pad foundations.
june 15 today nobody on site.
june 16 again nobody on site we go to the shop. my girl friend goes into the shop because i'm angry (mak mak). they say we have to sort out electricity, water and clear the access using a tractor in preparation for stone. we sort out the electricity, clear the access and get a water man on site.
june 17 water man on site again.
june 18 water man finishes up today and puts in the concrete rings. also the contractor come along and stone up the road for access.