Building A Family Home in Chiang Mai

Any story related to building in the LOS, whether everything turned out hunky dory or not!

Moderators: MGV12, BKKBILL, fredlk

Building A Family Home in Chiang Mai

Postby chiangmaiexpat » Wed May 21, 2008 10:07 am

My wife and I have decided to build a new house for our family in Chiang Mai. We've been living in Chiang Mai for the last three years and we like it here. My wife is originally from Bangkok and I've been working in Bangkok for many years before moving to Chiang Mai. Two years ago we bought a piece of land near the peripheral road no. 121, approx. 10 minutes drive from the city. The land is located in a quiet residential zone near the end of a dead-end street. The surrounding properties are already built with detached single family houses. It's safe for our kids, very green, and with mountain view. Quite a few farangs seem to live in this neighbourhood; we already got to know some of them. The land is approx. 1000 sqm (250 sqw) - big enough for a nice garden. Shortly after the land was bought, we had it filled with soil to make it less prone to flooding.

Every building project begins with a plan, of course, so here is our plan.

-
Attachments
groundfloor.png
upperfloor.png
chiangmaiexpat

Postby chiangmaiexpat » Wed May 21, 2008 10:35 am