Can you really build for 30k USD?

Anything to do with prices. Raw material prices or prices for finished material (or labor such as well drilling). Project prices (how much will it cost??), etc.

Moderators: Sometimewoodworker, MGV12, BKKBILL

Can you really build for 30k USD?

Postby dozer » Wed May 03, 2006 6:49 pm

Sumitted from Harry P

I'm a contractor here in L.A.Ca
My wife and I want to retire, I think your web site and information is briliant.
We'd like to find or build a 2 bed room 2 bath cosy home for ourselves.
Maybe a view maybe near the beach.
Could I really build for 30,000 usd?
Permits?
Plans?
We wil be over in a few months to check things out.
dozer
Site Admin

Postby dozer » Wed May 03, 2006 6:55 pm

Hi Harry:

The biggest variable in the equation is LAND COST. There is a real spike in land prices in expat/tourist locations.
1 Rai = .40 acre (you can build on 1/4 Rai, plenty big)

Pattaya beachfront = 50 million bhat
Jomtien beachfront = 12 million bhat
Pattaya/Jomtien area beach view = 6 million bhat
Pattaya/Jomtien area lake/reservior view = 1.5 million bhat
Pattaya/Jomtien area further out = 1 million bhat
Upcountry Land, Village = 80,000 bhat
Upcountry land, Farm = 20,000 bhat

As far as the building costs you can still build a very comfortable house with all amenities complete for under 1 million bhat.

cheers,

dozer
dozer
Site Admin

Postby cruzing » Mon May 08, 2006 5:05 pm

dozer wrote:Hi Harry:

The biggest variable in the equation is LAND COST. There is a real spike in land prices in expat/tourist locations.
1 Rai = .40 acre (you can build on 1/4 Rai, plenty big)

Pattaya beachfront = 50 million bhat
Jomtien beachfront = 12 million bhat
Pattaya/Jomtien area beach view = 6 million bhat
Pattaya/Jomtien area lake/reservior view = 1.5 million bhat
Pattaya/Jomtien area further out = 1 million bhat
Upcountry Land, Village = 80,000 bhat
Upcountry land, Farm = 20,000 bhat